Skip to content

Social Lepers

February 21, 2012

From the Rev. Candace Chellew-Hodge at CNN on the Rev. Kenneth Hutcherson‘s anti-gay views:

[I]t is the sin of Hutcherson and his allies that leads to death for gay and lesbian people. It is the constant assertion that gay and lesbian people are “filthy” or “sick” – just some of the things I’ve been called over the years – or “intrinsically disordered” as the Catholic Church puts it, that drives many gay and lesbian people to the brink. As a teenager, I attempted suicide because of the messages I received from my church that I was hated by God for my “sin,” even though I had not even been sexually intimate with another woman at that point. It was the sin of the church, however, that led me to that desperate act – not any “sin” I had yet to commit.

It has taken me nearly half of my life to come to understand myself as a loved and blessed child of God who was hardwired by my creator to fall in love with someone of the same gender. I had to make my way through the bible, through church teaching, and finally seminary to discover that no one can create my relationship with God other than me. The Kenneth Hutchersons of the world can rant and rave all they want about my “sin,” but my final judge is God – and I have seen proof after proof of God’s love for me just as I am.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

