Skip to content

Bogus Clear-Cast Digital Antenna Ad

January 24, 2012

Today’s N&R back page of the A section featured a full page ad for a Clear-Cast digital antenna for free if Greensboro residents in the listed zip codes called a listed number in the next 48 hours.

From Stop the Cap:

In fact, the published account about the “new invention” was actually a paid advertisement-designed-to-look-like-a-news-story. Clear Cast is effectively a variation on the traditional indoor UHF bow tie antenna your local Radio Shack used to sell for $1.49. The major difference is that it is designed to be attached to a window with accompanying suction cups. That is a valid approach to improving reception, but whether it is worth the asking price of $38 is another matter.

I really appreciate the N&R helping to perpetrate a scam on its readers.

Of course, it wasn’t really free:

Only callers who beat the order deadline and provide the operator with the valid Free TV Claim Code listed above and live in one of the Greensboro area zip codes that get Free TV will be permitted to get the Clear-Cast for just $47 and shipping that pulls in up to 953 crystal clear digital TV shows each year for Free with no monthly bills.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. Ken Hill permalink
    January 24, 2012 10:23 pm

    Always and currently using only antennas for my TV reception, the advertised unit is not much of an antenna. Inside a structure, any antenna is reduced in effectiveness by about 40%. That unit is probably not worth even $1.49. I now have two antennas at my house. The largest is about 16 feet long with an amplifier mounted to the antenna. Charlotte, Roanoke, Lynchburg. 7 stations from Charlotte. The other antenna is an amplified omnidirectional unit mounted in the attic ( wife objected to two outside masts ) for the local stations to minimize wear on the rotor for the big unit. Who needs cable? Or the junk advertised in the N&R?

  2. Stephen permalink
    January 25, 2012 3:22 pm

    http://www.antennaweb.org

  3. Karl arman permalink
    February 12, 2012 9:56 am

    A lotof stupid people will buy this piece of crap.

    • RBM permalink
      February 12, 2012 10:39 am

      So Fec did good pointing it out, eh ?

      I’d call it a public service, to all.

      Not to just ‘stupid people’, by the way, cause everyone is ‘stupid’ in some ways or other.

  4. February 17, 2012 7:56 pm

    chances are that this is CLEAR baloney the company like the politicians wants you to CAST a vote of confidence on this product

    • pablo como permalink
      March 7, 2012 8:32 am

      talking about stupid, some of you here can’t even spell.

  5. March 12, 2012 2:20 pm

    Don’t waste your money, as they are not an amplified or powered antenna. An attic or outdoor amplified antenna is far superior. If you have an older TV, you will still need an Analog to Digital Converter Box to get the stations. These stations are local off air stations & not satellite like some people are led to believe. In most areas you will have the major networks & maybe a few more public broadcasts. At most a dozen channels, but they are free, just like the old analog channels were.
    Nothing new here, just BS to suck money out of people’s pockets. If you want Discovery, TLC, Disney Channel or others, you will need either Local Cable or Satellite (of which there are half a dozen) like Dish Network, Direct TV, Hughes Network & others.

    • April 9, 2012 6:43 pm

      That’s a Digital TO Analog converter…
      And these things just appeared in Woodstock Illinois for $47.
      Steve n.

      • RBM permalink
        April 12, 2012 5:10 pm

        Your ‘TO’ in the phrase ‘Digital TO Analog converter’, is just a typo for ‘to’ is it not ?

  6. March 25, 2012 10:10 pm

    hey does virgin moble have free tv boxes saw on uk tv is that same here.

  7. March 26, 2012 3:40 pm

    I saw these web pages too late. I already ordered 2 of those antennas. U say it’s nothing but
    a waste of money. Too late if that’s actually the case. I will soon get them from the FEDEX
    truck and see for myself.

    • bennie fortson permalink
      April 27, 2012 6:04 pm

      ii would love to know if this is in fact a rip off

  8. brian permalink
    March 26, 2012 11:07 pm

    Me too…I bought one too fast. But since I am between Colorado Springs and Denver, i am promised BOTH cities local tv whic at this point, I am only getting Colorado Springs. Will see in 5-7 days from the FED-EX man…

  9. March 31, 2012 2:46 pm

    Am waiting to hear from someone who has actually used this

  10. mergatroyd permalink
    March 31, 2012 3:19 pm

    I hope the potential/expectant users do post their user experience here. The information will be appreciated.

  11. bigrod permalink
    April 12, 2012 1:12 pm

    They have have just advertised in the local palm beach post today – thanks for letting me know I was going to buy one

  12. M.E.Jazwin permalink
    April 14, 2012 9:59 pm

    I ordered one and it arrived in a timely manner. Although as cited in many posts
    the digital antennae is not impressive & the suction cups mickey mouse and theoretically
    looks like it is worth $10.00 or so and not the $47.00+shipping(around $56.00) I paid.

    I honestly had second thoughts about the hassle of trying to use it when it arrived, and
    waited a few days(knowing that I could return for full refund for 30 days). Finally I got
    bored and decided to try it….

    I live in a small town approximately 100 miles from two major cities. People in town told
    me not to even try using an antennae and get cable, when I purchased my place and I
    did, to my regret.

    I was amazed that the unit was able to find 4 digital stations and 2 analog channels.
    The analog stations were a dud but the digital stations reception was amazing -
    clear and actually larger than my cable provider provides…. used it on a small 17″
    digital HDMI flat screen monitor.

    Literally I spent less than 3 minutes hooking up the unit and believe I can get more
    channels if I properly positioned the unit. I was brining in ABC, NBC the major broadcasts
    for free…

    I intend on keeping the unit, as my cable contract expires in a few months and the cost
    of this unit is a tad more than one month of cable(for many consumers). I am quite
    content with the product and am knowledge of its existence with friends and family, as
    a viable alternative to cable.

    Although it technologically may be a rip-off of a UDF antennae allegedly sold at Radio
    Shack allegedly for $1.49 I wish anyone who tries to buy the original product at
    Radio Shack for $1.49 good luck…

    The last time I frequented Radio Shack for a iPod cable it cost me over $15.00 for a
    simple USB plug in.

    ClearCast@ ,though a tad costly is simple to use, installs in seconds and actually works.
    I imagine if I lived in big city I could bring in hundreds of channels. It depends on your
    value system, I preferred to pay for something designed to deliver what it promised.

    Since 2008 consumers have had no real alternatives to TV access without paying out
    a hefty monthly bill with a 2 year contract…. although you may be able to
    recreate the same thing if you want to mess around at a Radio Shack or Best Buy may
    be able to proffer you the components to assemble your own and perhaps save
    twenty to thirty dollars.

    Am very satisfied with the product, live in rural area which even cable companies have
    problems with and will thoroughly enjoy canceling my cable provider in a couple
    of months and use ClearCast@ and saving a lot of money and hassles with cable
    providers.

    Suggest you try it…it does come with a 30 day refund policy(card in the same box and
    believe you will get a complete refund w/o hassle simply if you do not like the product).

    I would guess return shipping to ClearCast via UPS in original box is going to stiff you
    for about $1.50…unit is light…

    • monkey_boy1001 permalink
      June 23, 2012 11:42 am

      Wow, you couldn’t be more obvious if you tried. The $1.49 is what a cheap bow tie antenna used to cost. Today you can get one for $4.99 at Best Buy. I’ve purchased an RCA amplified antenna for $35 and it’s no more complicated than this piece of junk. Same install procedures too or plug in the AC adapter for amplified signal.

  13. April 17, 2012 7:55 am

    The adverstisement just appeared in the Indianapolis Star for $47 plus shipping. I knew it was bogus as soon as I saw the “Paid Advertisement” printed at the top of the full page ad.

  14. dan permalink
    April 18, 2012 12:58 pm

    check out http://www.dtvgreendish.com no hype, you can connect all of your tvs up to 8 sets.
    In South Florida we get 72 digital channels, and we live 60 miles away from the nearest towers, on all sets. They install it for you. The price includes installation. compared to comcast’s basic service of 12 channels for 29 bucks a month, you get the same ones plus 60+ more independant movie channels,music videos news international educational as well as all major networks like fox abc cbs mytv cw ion antenna tv bounce tv this foxwpb ect. for free.

    • RBM permalink
      April 18, 2012 3:21 pm

      Went to the above site, looking for no hype and technical info. Found the former, not the latter.

      To brush up on general information on ‘digital over the air TV’ I went to Wiki.

  15. jackeeno permalink
    April 27, 2012 12:53 pm

    This thing sounds really bogus–kind of like those plug in antennas they had years ago that did absolutely nothing (supposedly using your houses wiring as an antenna-yeh right)–am surprised to see some folks here have to actually sign a CONTRACT (2 years seems to be the standard) to get cable TV–just like a cell phone contract–while I hate our cable company intensely, at least we don’t have to sign a contract and can cancel without penalty as long as you return their equipment–can see how those who may have to sign a contract for cable could think this product was a way out–but am sure much cheaper alternatives would work just as well–I have yet to see any really legitimate and worthwhile products advertised in those magazine type inserts included with many of todays newspapers–if I want cheap crap from China, I could just as soon head down to my local Wal-Mart and at least save the rip-off shipping charges.

    • April 27, 2012 1:51 pm

      Whats really wrong is that scams like that make it harder for people to sift through the chaff for legitmate antennas. For example, Here at DTV Green Dish, we tell you exactlly how may channels you get. Not shows. That is dishonest. When we install it, we give them 5 days to try it out and they can return it for a refund. In South Florida,our clients get 72 plus channels and they can connect the dish to all tvs up to 8. There’s no contract, monthly payments, just a one time set up. We have replaced all the other antennas such as weingard, radio shack, antennas direct, antenna craft channel master ect. We tell our clients to be sure to give those old relics a decent burial. Our main problem is convincing potetial clients it’s legal to get that many tv channels, and it’s morons like the above mentioned companies that hurt and actually keeps the cable and satellite companies fat because the clients get burned, they won’t trust legitimate companies. So you are right.
      check it out http://www.dtvgreendish.com it’s the real alternative to basic cable. this is the real deal. If you want to contact me directly you can call me at 305-964-0984 ask for Dan or Jared.

  16. Bill permalink
    June 17, 2012 11:16 pm

    I saw an ad for the Clear-Cast when I was visiting my hometown. It was advertised in the local bird-cage liner. This a great scam that I’m sure the elderly and uneducated will fall for. TV over the air is free, and it has been since the digital conversion. This antenna seems worth $5, if that. For a good antenna, check out Channel Master or Winegard, and seek a reputable installer in your area. I have a Winegard Metrostar I bought years ago for about $100, it is installed on my roof. I get a lot of channels (46), but I live in an urban area. Don’t expect to get cable channels. At best you should get the Networks, PBS, a few re-run channels, and international news & programming. For me an antenna, plus a Roku box is more TV than I can handle.

  17. Diana Moynihan permalink
    June 26, 2012 5:05 pm

    Question – I currently have an antennae, and I asked before I purchased if this technology would bring in more channels – they indicated ‘yes’, not sure I believe them or not, and will hate to have to pay the shipping to return it – but, can anyone who purchased it in Charlotte, NC indicate if it has more channels than the current antennae will allow? I currently get channels 3, 3.2, 9, 18, 30.1,.2,.3, 36, 46, 55, 58.1.,.2,.3, and 64. (I can’t imagine getting any more, but just checking. thanks.

    • RBM permalink
      June 26, 2012 6:39 pm

      Have you done the research to determine how many more channels are possible to get ?

  18. Alan Lee permalink
    March 9, 2013 1:12 pm

    If I believed the full-page “Special Advertising Feature” that appeared in my local Los Angeles paper on 3/8/13, I wouldn’t have logged on here to check. Thanks for confirming my immediate evaluation of the information, that it was a bunch of malarkey. I hope other readers of the Clear-Cast bluster check here first. Thanks again! AL

    • Jared permalink
      March 9, 2013 10:00 pm

      Al check out the real deal. http://Www.dtvgreendish.com that where everyone who tried other antennas go as a last resort. Also listen to the HTGUYS podcast number 539 on the DishTenna. Those guy live so far Antenna web and Tvfool said they could not get any reliable signals from where they lived. Yet with DishTenna, they pulled in 125 digital channels.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 88 other followers

